Home > Student Resources > Admissions > Residency Classification

The tuition charge for persons who have been legal residents of North Carolina for at least 12 months is less than for non-residents. G.S. 116-431.1 of NC General Statutes covers the requirements for the determination of resident status for tuition purposes. A portion of G.S. 116-143.1 is quoted as follows:
To qualify as a resident for tuition purposes, a person must have established legal residence (domicile) in North Carolina and maintained that legal residence for at least 12 months immediately prior to his/her classification as a resident for tuition purposes. To be eligible for classification as a resident for tuition purposes, a person must establish that his/her presence in the State currently is, and during the requisite 12-month qualifying period, was for purposes of maintaining a bona fide domicile rather than to maintain a mere temporary residence or abode incident to enrollment in an institution of higher education.


An individual shall not be classified as a resident for tuition purposes “...until he/she has provided such evidence related to legal residence and its duration as may be required by officials of the institution...” Information relating to claimed North Carolina residence for tuition purposes shall be required from all applicants claiming to be North Carolina residents, and a determination shall be made by the Admissions Office as to whether or not the applicant qualifies for in-state tuition rates.The burden of establishing facts that justify classification of a student as a resident entitled to in-state tuition rates is on the applicant for such classification.


Decision by the College will be based on the requirements of the General Statutes of North Carolina and regulations specified in “A Manual to Assist the Public Higher Education Institutions of North Carolina in the Matter of Student Residence Classification for Tuition Purposes.”

In-state Tuition for Certain Veterans

Effective July 1, 2015, S.L. 2015-116 (S478), In-State Tuition for Certain Veterans/Federal Program, makes certain veterans and other individuals eligible for in-State tuition if certain conditions are met (see attached legislation).
For veterans, the 12 month residency requirement for in-State tuition is waived for any veteran who meets all of the following criteria:

  • Served active duty for at least 90 days in the Armed Forces, the Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service, or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
  • Was discharged or released under conditions other than dishonorable.
  • Qualifies for and uses federal educational benefits under either the Montgomery GI Bill Active Duty Education Program or the Post -9/11 Educational Assistance.
  • Qualifies for admission to the community college.
  • Enrolls within 3 years of the veteran’s discharge or release.
  • The veteran's abode is North Carolina, meaning the veteran must actually live in NC, whether temporarily or permanently.
  • Provides the college with a letter of intent to establish legal residence in North Carolina.

For other individuals, the 12 month residency requirement is waived if the person meets all of the following criteria:

  • The person is the recipient of a veteran's federal educational benefits under either 38 USC Chapter 30 (Montgomery GI Bill Active Duty Education Program) or 38 USC Chapter 33 (Post -9/11 Educational Assistance).
  • The person qualifies for admission and enrolls in a community college within 3 years of the veteran’s discharge or release from the Armed Forces, the Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service, or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • The person’s abode is North Carolina meaning the person must actually live in NC, whether temporarily or permanently.
  • The person provides the institution of higher education with a letter of intent to establish legal residence in North Carolina.