NC Licensing & Renewal

Escort Vehicle Operator, Saturday - Certification 8:30am - 5:30pm

SPCC is offering 8 hour courses that meets the requirements for certification. These classes have been approved by the NC Department of Transportation for Escort Vehicle (Oversize Loads) Operators.
April 29, 2017Certification
May 20, 2017Certification

Cost: $75

Keyword: Escort Vehicle

Location: OCH – Monroe Campus

To learn more, contact: Kristen Griffin, 704-290-5223


Notary Public

Keyword: Notary

Cost: $80 registration fee and $28.52 for book at SPCC Bookstore

This 7-hour course meets state requirements for certification as a Notary Public.  Required for anyone interested in becoming a Notary Public for the first time, or for those who need to refresh their skills. For additional information on becoming a Notary Public in North Carolina, visit the state website at www.sosnc.com.

Notary Public, OCH Monroe Campus, 8:30am - 4:00pm

4/25/17Tuesday
5/20/17Saturday

To learn more, contact:
Tara Moss 704-290-5212 or

Notary Public, LTC – Lockhart Taylor Campus, 8:30am - 4:00pm

4/22/17Saturday
5/16/17Tuesday

To learn more, contact: Kathy Moore, 704-694-6505

Notary Public Course Information

Where can I buy the current Notary Public Guidebook for North Carolina?
• ONLINE at www.sog.unc.edu
• EMAIL sales@sog.unc.edu
• CALL 919-966-4119
• CONTACT a bookstore or local community college

Required for class:
-Notary Public Guidebook for North Carolina is required. (Current edition available at the SPCC bookstore) – Read before class!
-Current drivers license for identification
-North Carolina statutes require that notary publics must be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or GED.
-A convicted felon is not eligible to obtain a notary license in North Carolina.
-The NC Secretary of State requires all candidates to speak, read, and write in English and present a valid government photo ID to be admitted to the course.


Vehicle Inspection School

These courses are designed for automotive employees needing certification required to perform N.C. inspections.

*** Please register the month before your certification expires, these classes fill up in advance. ***
If you are sending your employees to the class you can register them online or email
Kristen Griffin for a registration form.

Vehicle Safety Inspection, Monday/Tuesday, 5pm -9pm

This course meets the requirements by the NC DMV for training required of mechanics to inspect vehicles for safety. Participants must complete the course content, demonstrate ability to make inspections, and pass a written examination.
Valid driver’s license required.
For re-certification you must attend both nights.
April 17-18
May 8-9
June 5-6
July 10-11
August 14-15
September 11-12
October 9-10
November 13-14
December 11-12

Cost: $71.40 due upon registration.  Registrations will not be accepted after class start date. Payments will not be accepted after class start date.

Click here to search, register, and pay for classes

Keyword: Vehicle Safety

Classes are held at our Tyson Family Center for Technology (CTHE)
3509 Old Charlotte Highway
Monroe, NC 28110
To learn more, contact: Kristen Griffin, 704-290-5223

Emissions - OBD II

This mandatory course is for employees performing N.C. Safety and Emissions Inspections and On Board Diagnostics. For certification and re-certification you must attend both nights.
April 22Saturday8am - 5pm
May 10-11Wed/Thur5pm - 9pm
June 7- 8Wed/Thur5pm - 9pm
July 12-13Wed/Thur5pm - 9pm
August 16-17Wed/Thur5pm - 9pm
September 13-14Wed/Thur5pm - 9pm
October 11-12Wed/Thur5pm - 9pm
November 15-16Wed/Thur5pm - 9pm
December 13-14Wed/Thur5pm - 9pm

Cost: $71.40 due upon registration. Registrations will not be accepted after class start date. Payments will not be accepted after class start date.

Click here to search, register, and pay for classes

Keyword: OBD

Classes are held at our Tyson Family Center for Technology (CTHE)
3509 Old Charlotte Highway
Monroe, NC 28110
To learn more, contact: Kristen Griffin, 704-290-5223