Home > Career Development & Continuing Education > Personal Interest > Motorcycle Rider Safety Training

Motorcycle Rider Safety Training

Click here to register and pay online.  Search keyword: MOTORCYCLE

Basic Rider Course
is designed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation and provides 22 hours of class work and practical riding skills for new riders, or for experienced riders who want to improve their riding skills. Motorcycles are provided and students enjoy small class sizes with high quality, experienced instructors. Students should have a driver's license but motorcycle endorsement or permit is not required. Classes are scheduled for both weekends and weekdays.

Successful graduates of this course will receive a waiver card for the on-bike skills portion (road test) of the NC DMV motorcycle license test. This course meets the guidelines of the Motorcycle Safety Foundation and the N.C. Motorcycle Safety Education Program.

Students bring a pen and dress appropriately for riding, including long pants, long sleeves, over the ankle footwear, full fingered gloves, protective eyewear (sunglasses are OK), and a helmet. There are some helmets available for students who need to borrow one.

Price: $174

Location: All motorcycle courses take place on our Monroe campus - 4209 Old Charlotte Hwy, Monroe, NC

Weekend Classes - THURSDAY 6-10pm, Sat/Sun 7:30am-5:30pm

14CSP303 March 27, 29-30
14CSP304 April 10. 12-13
14CSP305 April 24, 26-27

Weekday/Daytime Classes - Tuesday 8am-1pm, Wed./Thur. 8am-5p

If for any reason a student cannot successfully complete this class, they will need to re-register at their own expense.

Under 18? State law requires that anyone under 18 who applies to obtain a motorcycle learner’s permit or a driver license with a motorcycle endorsement must pass a course taught by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation or the N.C. Motorcycle Safety Education Program. Students must be at least 16 to take the Motorcycle: Basic Rider course and a driver's license or permit is not required. This is a safety course that provides a DMV waiver card; the course does not provide, or guarantee, a license; adding a motorcycle license endorsement to a North Carolina Driver's License is regulated by the DMV; check  the DMV website or handbook for current guidelines.  All minors must complete a Course Waiver and Minor Release form in order to participate in the course. Click here for: Course Waiver form AND  Minor Release Form.

The law in North Carolina requires the operator of any motorcycle to have a motorcycle endorsement shown on their driver license or possess a motorcycle learner permit. Effective Jan. 1, 2011, a motorcycle learner’s permit will be issued for only 12 months, and only one renewal of six months will be allowed.

For information about motorcycle classes, contact Carole Lynn Simmons at 704-290-5258/csimmons@spcc.edu or Ron Rutherford at 704-242-4483.

Click here to search, register and pay for classes

Search keyword: MOTORCYCLE


Experienced Rider Course is designed for motorcycle riders who already have their motorcycle license or their motorcycle permit and have riding experience. Riders who successfully complete this class must pass a written and skills test to be awarded a waiver card for the skills portion of the NC DMV license test. The law in North Carolina requires the operator of any motorcycle to have a motorcycle endorsement shown on their driver license or possess a motorcycle learner permit. Effective Jan. 1, 2011, a motorcycle learner’s permit will be issued for only 12 months, and only one renewal of six months will be allowed.

Students must bring their own bike, MC permit or license, provide their own safe and street legal motorcycle, and show proof of insurance.

This is a one day class and students must be at least 16 years of age.

Price: $79.00

Next class:

14CSP306 May 3, 2014, 8am - 5pm


Click here to search, register and pay for classes. Search keyword: EXPERIENCED